Al Roker and Deborah Roberts to Host the 2022 BFOA Golden Mike Award Gala

The Broadcasters Foundation of America is proud to announce that the hosts for this year’s BFOA Golden Mike Award dinner and ceremony will be husband and wife broadcasters Al Roker, Weather and Feature Anchor for TODAY and Co-Host of Third Hour for TODAY, and Deborah Roberts, award-winning ABC News Senior National Affairs Correspondent for 20/20, Nightline, Al Roker and Deborah RobertsGood Morning America, and World News Tonight with David Muir. The 2022 BFOA Golden Mike Award returns following a one-year hiatus, due to the pandemic, and will take place Monday, March 14, at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. The annual event is the biggest fundraiser for the Broadcasters Foundation, whose sole mission is to provide aid to broadcasters in acute need.

Roker is an American weather presenter, journalist, television personality, actor, author, and producer. In 2018, he was honored for 40 years at NBC. He has been named Best Weatherman twice by New York Magazine. Roker is a recipient of the American Meteorological Society’s prestigious Seal of Approval and has been a pioneer in the use of computer graphics for weathercasting. Roker has won three Daytime Emmy Awards as part of TODAY’s recognition as the best morning newscast (2007, 2009, 2010).

Roberts, who serves on the Broadcasters Foundation Board of Directors, has been awarded multiple Emmy® Awards for her international and national coverage of world events. Her long-form reports on 20/20 have consistently produced extraordinary narratives, such as an intimate profile of former first lady Michelle Obama and former first daughter Ivanka Trump. In 2021, Roberts was awarded a Peabody Award for the 20/20 special, “Say Her Name: Breonna Taylor.”

As previously announced, this year’s BFOA Golden Mike Award honoree will be Hilton Howell, Jr., Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Gray Television and Atlantic American Corporation. The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to renowned sportscaster Lesley Visser.

The Broadcasters Foundation of America Golden Mike Award dinner attracts a who’s who of broadcast media executives and celebrities. Previous Golden Mike recipients include Dave Lougee, Emily Barr, David Barrett, Michael Bloomberg, Cathy Hughes and Alfred Liggins, Bob Pittman, Gordon Smith, Jeff Smulyan, Perry Sook, and more. Lifetime Achievement Award recipients have included George Beasley, Ed McLaughlin, Bill Hoffman, Charles Osgood, and Dick Clark. For information, or to reserve a seat or table, please contact the Broadcasters Foundation at 212-373-8250 or


About the Broadcasters Foundation of America:

Since its inception 70 years ago, the Broadcasters Foundation has distributed millions of dollars in aid to broadcasters who have lost their livelihood through a catastrophic event, debilitating disease or unforeseen tragedy. Personal donations can be made to the Foundation’s Guardian Fund. Corporate contributions are accepted through the Angel Initiative, and bequests can be made through the Foundation’s Legacy Society. For more information, please visit, call 212-373-8250, or email

The mission of the Broadcasters Foundation of America is to improve the quality of life and maintain the personal dignity of men and women in the radio and television broadcast profession who find themselves in acute need. The Foundation reaches out across the country to identify and provide an anonymous safety net in cases of critical illness, advanced age, death of a spouse, accident and other serious misfortune. The Broadcasters Foundation of America is a 501(c)3 Public Charity.

Media Contact:
Renee Cassis
RC Communications Marketing