Our Mission

The mission of the Broadcasters Foundation of America is to improve the quality of life and maintain the personal dignity of men and women in the radio and television broadcast profession who find themselves in acute financial need due to a critical illness, accident, advanced age or other serious misfortune.

Our History

Over 70 years ago, when a fellow broadcaster fell on hard times and was unable to receive his salary, his broadcasting colleagues came together and chipped in to support him until he was back on his feet. That initial idea became the Broadcast Pioneers, which launched similar programs within cities across the country. Today, we have the Broadcasters Foundation of America, which combined the Pioneers’ efforts and expanded outreach to the whole country.


About Us

The Broadcasters Foundation of America reaches across the country to provide an anonymous safety net for radio and television broadcasters who find themselves in acute financial need. For over seventy years, the Broadcasters Foundation of America, along with it Board of Directors, many volunteers and countless contributors, have aided over 1,000 broadcasters and their families across the United States.

Contact Us

Broadcasters Foundation of America
125 West 55th Street, 3rd Floor
New York, NY 10019

T/F: 212-373-8250

Our Staff

Timothy McCarthy


Peter M. Doyle

Vice President

Emily Barratt

VP, Grants and Operations

Keith Goralski

VP, Development

Judy Quaranta

VP, Finance

James B. Thompson

President 2008-2022

Public Relations Consultant

Renee Cassis
RC Communications Marketing
646-808-6505, cassis2@msn.com

Our Officers


Scott Herman, CEO, SHH Media Management

Vice Chairman

Jordan Wertlieb, President, Hearst Television


Timothy McCarthy

Vice President

Peter M. Doyle

VP, Grants and Operations

Emily Barratt

Vice President

Heather Cohen, EVP, The Weiss Agency

VP, Development

Keith Goralski

Vice President

Jeff Haley, Vice Chairman, Marketron

Secretary & General Counsel

Kathleen Kirby, Wiley Rein, LLP

Vice President

Steve LanzanoPresident, TVB

VP of Finance

Judy Quaranta

Vice President

Julie TalbottPresident, Premiere Networks

Vice President

Charlie Weiss, SVP Business Development, NATPE

Chairman Emeritus

Philip J. Lombardo, Citadel Communications Company

Board of Directors

Jack Abernethy
CEO, Fox Television Stations

Caroline Beasley
CEO, Beasley Media Group

Philip R. Beuth
Capital Cities, retired

Richard J. Bodorff
Senior Counsel, Wiley Rein LLP

Patrick Butler
President & CEO, America’s Public Television Stations

Brian Cobb
President, CobbCorp

Raymond H. Cole
President & COO, Citadel Communications

John David

Erica Farber
President & CEO, RAB

Joseph Field
Chairman, Audacy

Mark Gray
CEO, Katz Media Group

Hilton Howell
Chairman, President & CEO, Gray Television and Atlantic American Corp.

Steve Jones
President & CEO, Skyview Networks

N. Scott Knight
President & CEO, Knight Media Group

Jinny Laderer
President Emerita, vCreative

Brian Lawlor
President, Local Media, E.W. Scripps TV Station Group

Curtis LeGeyt
President & CEO, NAB

David T. Lougee
President & CEO, TEGNA

Dennis Lyle
President & CEO, Illinois Broadcasters Association

Leo MacCourtney
President & CEO, Katz Television Group

Chad Matthews
President, ABC Owned Television Stations

Dan Mason
President, CBS Radio, retired

Wendy McMahon
President & Co-Head of CBS News, CBS TV Stations, CBS News Digital

Elizabeth Neuhoff
President & CEO, Neuhoff Communications

Deborah Norville
Anchor, Inside Edition

Mike O’Neill
President & CEO, BMI

I. Martin Pompadur

Deborah Roberts
Correspondent, ABC News

Perry Sook
Chairman, President & CEO, Nexstar Media Group

William McGorry
Chairman, B&C Hall of Fame

Valari Staab
President, NBC Owned TV Stations

Jeff Warshaw
CEO, Connoisseur Media, LLC

Diana Wilkin
Managing Partner, Twelve 24 Media

Financial Information

Expense Allocation

Program Service


Mgt & Gen

Tax Form 990

Annual Reports

Feel free to contact us for more information about our Public Charity Status.

Donor Privacy Policy

The Broadcasters Foundation of America is committed to the privacy and protection of our treasured donors and their personal information.  To learn more about our donor privacy policy, click here.

Have a general question about the Foundation? Send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search