Ed McLaughlin to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award

Edward F. McLaughlin to Receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Broadcasters Foundation of America

Edward F. McLaughlin, the iconic broadcaster who discovered Rush Limbaugh, will be honored with the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award at the Broadcasters Foundation of America’s Golden Mike Award dinner. The gala, which is an annual fundraising event for the Broadcasters Foundation’s mission of helping broadcasters in need, will be held on Monday, March 5 at the Plaza Hotel in New York City. McLaughlin holds the prestigious title of Chairman Emeritus of the charitable organization.

“Receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award from the charitable organization that I have believed in and supported for many years means a great deal to me,” stated McLaughlin. “I am grateful for the generosity of the broadcasters who make it possible for the Broadcasters Foundation to help our colleagues.”

“Ed is a visionary who took chances that led broadcasting into uncharted territory and tremendous success,” observed Dan Mason, Chairman of the Broadcasters Foundation of America. “His dedication and leadership of the Broadcasters Foundation helped advance our mission. It is with great pride that we honor his innovation and recognize his years of service.”

A life-long broadcaster, McLaughlin founded EFM Media Management in 1987 and syndicated The Dr. Dean Edell Show. Shortly thereafter, he launched the national syndication of local Sacramento radio host Rush Limbaugh, which led to the revitalization of AM radio and the news/talk format.

During his 14-year tenure at the helm of ABC Radio Networks, McLaughlin guided the expansion of long-form programming, acquiring American Top 40 with Casey Kasem, launching American Country Countdown with Bob Kingsley, and championing Paul Harvey’s program to reach 1,000 affiliates.

As Chairman of the Broadcasters Foundation of America, he redefined its mission and set the organization on its current course. Throughout his career, McLaughlin has received numerous accolades, including Radio Ink’s Lifetime Leadership Award in 2010 and the National Association of Broadcasters’ National Radio Award in 1996. He was the first chairman of the Radio Network Association, a long-standing board member of the International Radio & Television Foundation, and a trustee of The Paley Center for Media. He was inducted into the Radio Hall of Fame in 1995.

McLaughlin joins Dick Clark. Bill Hoffman, and Charles Osgood as a recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award. As previously announced, Emily Barr of Graham Media Group will receive the Broadcasters Foundation’s 2018 Golden Mike Award.


About the Broadcasters Foundation of America:

For more than 70 years, the Broadcasters Foundation has distributed millions of dollars in aid to broadcasters who have lost their livelihood through a catastrophic event, debilitating disease or unforeseen tragedy. Personal donations can be made to the Foundation’s Guardian Fund. Corporate contributions are accepted through the Angel Initiative, and bequests can be made through the Foundation’s Legacy Society. For more information, please visit www.broadcastersfoundation.org, call 212-373-8250, or email info@thebfoa.org.

The mission of the Broadcasters Foundation of America is to improve the quality of life and maintain the personal dignity of men and women in the radio and television broadcast profession who find themselves in acute need. The Foundation reaches out across the country to identify need and provide an anonymous safety net in cases of critical illness, advanced age, death of a spouse, accident and other serious misfortune. The Broadcasters Foundation of America is a 501(c)3 Public Charity.

Media Contact:

Renee Cassis
RC Communications Marketing